Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

The Wild and Wacky World of WAHMs!

Out On Their Own

Leave a comment

Yesterday, my husband and I cried like babies. We were on an emotional roller coaster that started with intense anxiety, followed by alternating bouts of fear and doubt which eventually ended with an overwhelming rush of bittersweet joy and immense pride.

Yesterday was my daughter’s assessment and entrance examination for preschool.

I know what you guys are thinking, why are we so emotional over our daughter getting into preschool? It’s preschool, for crying out loud! Nobody fails in those “assessment” tests and all they do in preschool is play.

My husband and I are very involved and a bit overprotective when it comes to our daughter. Although we allow and encourage her to face challenges by herself, this was the first time we felt like she was facing this completely alone. As a parent, you know you that you should let your child work things about by themselves but we’re usually at the wings ready to swoop in whenever our child is in trouble.

This time we felt helpless. We weren’t allowed to go with her to the testing area and she was tested by complete strangers. They didn’t know our daughter and we couldn’t tell her what her quirks are and what makes her tick. We wouldn’t know if she was scared or nervous until after they let us in the room.

Our daughter is smarter and stronger than me and my husband combined. I’m so proud!

She proved us wrong and she passed with flying colors. She even enjoyed the challenge! The guidance counselor and principal were charmed because she told them that she wanted to go to school and she will go to school even when she’s sick!

And I was really thankful that the staff was very professional. They really knew how to put my child at ease, which surprised me because normally my daughter is very shy among strangers. One of the counselors made the effort to make us more comfortable and reassured us by saying that our reaction is normal and that a lot of the parents there actually felt the same way we did.

It’s not you, it’s me

It’s not because we didn’t trust her abilities. It’s more like we didn’t trust ourselves. I think despite all the things we did to prepare her, we’re never completely sure that we did everything that we could or we did everything right. We’re human and we makes mistakes and it scares us that our child would be the one to suffer for our mistakes.

It’s a good thing children are forgiving and they often come out stronger and better than what we expect of them.

Author: Julia Jasmine Sta Romana

I'm a writer, enterprise development trainer, activist, full-time mom and part-time superhero. Currently working as 1) VA/content development for Onlinejobs.ph 2) contributor for GMA News Online and Mindanation. 3) internet right activist for Dakila.ph 4) trainer in training for ADFEC 5) co-founder of the Davao Virtual Assistants Association. I like to write about science and technology, parenting, food, society and my advocacy. On my free time I will be found * in school, taking my MBA, * scheming with my sisters on how we can save the world on our free time (Powerpuff!), * playing with our family dogs, * finding the easiest (laziest) way to do chores, and * cheering my daughter as she practices playing her trumpet, off key

Your thoughts?

