Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

The Wild and Wacky World of WAHMs!

The Physical Hazards of Attachment Parenting

Leave a comment

There are days when parenting feels like going to war. And like most soldiers, parents like to share war stories and battle scars with other parents.

Today, my daughter almost broke my nose. I was helping her wear put on her underwear. She figured things would probably go faster if she jumped into her panties rather than put them on one leg after another.

I first heard the crunch of her head hitting my nose. Then the intense pain. I started to freak out after I saw the blood run down my shirt and on my fingers.

This is just one of the many injuries my husband and I have suffered ever since I had my daughter. It wasn’t enough for her that my body has been forever changed because of the stretch marks and the few extra pounds I couldn’t lose. No, she had to leave her mark on all of us and boy, do they hurt.

To my fellow attachment parents, I share with you my inventory of injuries. If you have any unique parenting injuries I would love to hear about them. Misery loves company and it’s always nice to know we’re not alone as we lick our wounds.

Head Injuries

  • Kicks to the head while sleeping
  • Accidental head butts while playing or lifting the baby
  • Migraines from all the screaming

Neck and Shoulder Injuries

Photo-0046

No children were hurt in taking this photo. The adults, well, that’s another story.

  • Neck and shoulder pain from carrying a constantly moving (and increasing) weight

Back Injuries

  • Back pain from piggy back rides (my husband)
  • Back pain from carrying and restraining my daughter when she has a tantrum

Breast Injuries

  • My daughter thinks my breast are like pillows and that plumping them would make them a more comfortable head rest.

Groin injuries

  • My daughter liked to kick her legs when we put her in the baby carrier and she always aimed for my husband’s groin. We don’t use the baby ¬†carrier anymore but when we do carry her, she still takes an aim at her dad. She also enjoys running into my husband and giving him a head butt down there. My husband often joked that we don’t need birth control anymore now that he has been rendered sterile by the numerous injuries sustained by the family jewels.

Foot injuries

  • The older the are, the heavier they become,the more painful it is when they step on your foot.
  • Cuts and bruises from the toys my daughter “forgets” to put away.

This must be what they meant when they said love hurts.

Author: Julia Jasmine Sta Romana

Work at home mom, writer, Wordpress newbie, full time mom, part time cook. Always looking for ways to do things easier, better, and for free

Your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers