Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

The Wild and Wacky World of WAHMs!

Figaro – Gaisano Mall

2 Comments

When my sister needs to take a break from working at home, one of her favorite places to go to is Figaro at the Peak in GMall. She goes there often enough to the point that the cashier and waiters know her by name. She even has an engraved membership card. That’s how much she loves this particular coffee shop.

Figaro GMall. Image Courtese of DavaoLife.com

But why Figaro? Why of all the coffee shops and work spaces in Davao City, why does my sister keep coming back to this particular place?

I have gone to Figaro a few times and have worked there a few times. The one thing I truly love about the place is the strong internet and WiFi connection. The connection is so strong, you can easily stream videos from their outdoor dining area.

Another thing I appreciate about this coffee shop is its location. It doesn’t get a lot of foot traffic so it’s much more quiet compared to Starbucks. Although the place can get crowded on Friday and weekend afternoons.

Their location also makes it ideal for mothers who don’t have a nanny and can’t leave their kids at home. Inside the mall, just a few floors down is a secure, supervised kids play area where you can leave the kids (ages 5 and up) for a fee. The mall is also close to several schools and I actually plan to enroll my daughter in one of them. This means that after dropping off my daughter, I’d be able to walk to Figaro to work and walk back to pick her up after class.

The only thing I don’t like about their location is the traffic. GMall is located at a busy intersection, so getting to and away from GMall during rush hour can be hellish.

I also like the fact that most of the tables in Figaro are not tiny. You can actually put your laptop there, plus a cup of coffee and a plate of food. Unlike another coffee shop I know that had ridiculously tiny tables that can only hold a cup of coffee and a cupcake.

In addition to the WiFi, my sister loves their coffee. It’s strong, reasonably priced, and flavorful. The large servings of good food also helped since my sister and I like to pick at our food as we’re working.

Lastly, I love the fact that they have a restroom exclusively for customers. I really don’t like mall restrooms because they’re usually, uhm, icky and not to mention the looong line. But since Figaro has their own restroom, it’s always clean, you can use it as often as needed, and no waiting!

I definitely recommend this place for WAHMs as an alternative work place. Just make sure to avoid GMall during rush hour and you should be good.

Author: Julia Jasmine Sta Romana

I'm a writer, enterprise development trainer, activist, full-time mom and part-time superhero. Currently working as 1) VA/content development for Onlinejobs.ph 2) contributor for GMA News Online and Mindanation. 3) internet right activist for Dakila.ph 4) trainer in training for ADFEC 5) co-founder of the Davao Virtual Assistants Association. I like to write about science and technology, parenting, food, society and my advocacy. On my free time I will be found * in school, taking my MBA, * scheming with my sisters on how we can save the world on our free time (Powerpuff!), * playing with our family dogs, * finding the easiest (laziest) way to do chores, and * cheering my daughter as she practices playing her trumpet, off key

2 thoughts on “Figaro – Gaisano Mall

  1. Pingback: Coffee Hut/Zoofari – Bacaca, Davao City « Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

  2. Pingback: Zoofari/Tree Haus – Bacaca, Davao City « Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

Your thoughts?

