Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

The Wild and Wacky World of WAHMs!

Pursuing Your Passion

1 Comment

I apologize for not blogging these past few weeks. I just started my web development track on Codecademy and I’ve been working with my husband on creating a digital protection and security course for parents at our church in CCF Davao.

I bet you’re wondering, why take all this on? Between my full time job, my hobby as a Sci/Tech correspondent for an online news agency, and taking care of my family, I barely have any time left for myself. What woman in her right mind would take on more work when 24 hours isn’t enough for all the stuff that she has to do day by day.

I took the time to do those things because those tasks ARE the things that I want to do for myself. Learning something new and digital literacy are my passions. I’m happy and fulfilled as a mother but as a person and as a woman, I wanted to do more. I wanted to make an impact to society. I wanted to grow and improve. I don’t want to wait for opportunities to make myself better. I believe in making opportunities that could eventually open more doors for me and my family.

Nothing is too hard when you’re doing what you love!

Taking on more work hasn’t been easy. Working with my husband on the Digital Security course wasn’t that difficult because it’s a shared passion. We know we’re doing a lot of good teaching parents to teach their children to be responsible internet users and it’s something that we strongly believe in. We’re excited by how enthusiastic parents are and it’s a great way for us to strengthen our family unit.

Going back to “school” was a little harder. I had to ask my client and my family to make allowances for me. It takes a lot of discipline to set aside at least 15 minutes a day to study, to do all the reading and to finish my assignments. And it was very humbling for me to ask guys younger than me to help my debug my codes because there were times when I really couldn’t get it!!

But the thing is I’m happy! Despite the fact that I barely have time to sleep or relax, I’m not stressed. Being able to do the things I love with the people I love has given me the energy I needed to do everything that has to be done, even the chores I hate. It took me a while to effectively manage my time though, that’s why I was only able to post an update today.

But don’t worry, I’ll be posting regularly now on. I’ll keep you guys updated on my progress with Codecademy and I’ll post more information in this course that we’re developing for those who are interested.

I know that as WAHMs it’s hard for us to find time for our passions but I strongly recommend it. We’re more than mothers who work at home. We’re more than our families and jobs. It’s not going to be easy. It’s be exhausting and at times infuriating, but I promise you that pursuing your personal passion is something that will fulfill you in a deeper level and at the end of the day, you’ll feel all that hard work has been worthwhile.

Author: Julia Jasmine Sta Romana

I'm a writer, enterprise development trainer, activist, full-time mom and part-time superhero. Currently working as 1) VA/content development for Onlinejobs.ph 2) contributor for GMA News Online and Mindanation. 3) internet right activist for Dakila.ph 4) trainer in training for ADFEC 5) co-founder of the Davao Virtual Assistants Association. I like to write about science and technology, parenting, food, society and my advocacy. On my free time I will be found * in school, taking my MBA, * scheming with my sisters on how we can save the world on our free time (Powerpuff!), * playing with our family dogs, * finding the easiest (laziest) way to do chores, and * cheering my daughter as she practices playing her trumpet, off key

One thought on “Pursuing Your Passion

  1. I’m glad to read your post. Been lookin’ forward to it for some time. =>

Your thoughts?

