Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

The Wild and Wacky World of WAHMs!

Why We Can’t Do It All

2 Comments

One of the biggest and the hardest lessons I learned as a work at home mom was to cut myself some slack.

It’s not that I’m overly ambitious. It’s just that when I do something, I want to do it right and do it well. This has caused me a bit of anxiety through the years but when I became a mom, that anxiety has reached to a point that it was affecting my health.

And it turns out, I’m not alone. A lot of work at home moms feel this way. Most of us did choose this lifestyle because we believed we could have it all; a good family life and career. We want to give everything we can to these two facets of our lives, sometimes to the point where we burn the candle at both ends and wear ourselves down.

Cutting myself some slack has helped me and my family rest easier.

As work at home moms, we have to accept that we can’t do at all. We can’t do it all  because and no one can. It’s not a weakness on our part, it’s a fact of life. We can’t keep our homes pristine every day of the week. We will lose patience with out children. We will get burned out when we try to do everything.

We WAHMS have to remember not to focus on the fact that we can’t do it all but rather on the fact that we have done more than what was expected of us. Focus on our blessings and not on our setbacks. Appreciate the fact that we have a little bit of everything as opposed to not having anything at all.

I may not be able to cook every meal for my family but I am with them every meal time. I may not always be the one to give my daughter a bath but I am the one who puts her to sleep. My career maybe not be what I was trained for but I know I’m doing a good job at it. My life now may not be the life that I have planned for myself, but I know I’ve done well with the cards I’ve been dealt with.

Once we learn to cut ourselves some slack, that’s when we experience the balance we’re striving for. Because balance isn’t about achieving perfection, it’s about finding peace and contentment amidst all the chaos.

Author: Julia Jasmine Sta Romana

I'm a writer, enterprise development trainer, activist, full-time mom and part-time superhero. Currently working as 1) VA/content development for Onlinejobs.ph 2) contributor for GMA News Online and Mindanation. 3) internet right activist for Dakila.ph 4) trainer in training for ADFEC 5) co-founder of the Davao Virtual Assistants Association. I like to write about science and technology, parenting, food, society and my advocacy. On my free time I will be found * in school, taking my MBA, * scheming with my sisters on how we can save the world on our free time (Powerpuff!), * playing with our family dogs, * finding the easiest (laziest) way to do chores, and * cheering my daughter as she practices playing her trumpet, off key

2 thoughts on “Why We Can’t Do It All

  1. I am going to remember this, thank you…

Your thoughts?

