Wailings Of A Work At Home Mom

The Wild and Wacky World of WAHMs!

The Right To Become A Stay At Home Mom

Leave a comment

I was really inspired when I read Mia Redrick’s post about a woman’s right to stay at home. It seems like the feminist movement, which was supposed to free us from the restrictions and stereotypes associated with our sex, sort of backfired and created new restrictions and stereotypes that are maybe as bad as the old ones.

It’s not that I don’t value the wonderful gifts that the feminist movement has given my generation. I can’t imagine a time when it was almost impossible for women to have an education, get a job, have rights and own property. I know that there are still women all over the world who don’t enjoy the same rights. And it saddens me that these women often have to lay down their lives just so their daughters and granddaughters can enjoy the rights that I take for granted.

But it’s also frustrating to see how our fight for quality has also resulted in us undervaluing what is probably our biggest role in mankind: motherhood. Why do we think that a woman’s talent is “wasted” when she chooses to stay at home  instead of going back to work? Why do we think that a woman “isn’t working hard enough” when she chooses to spend only 8 hours at work instead of 10-12 hours? Why are we disappointed when we see women who find more joy and contentment tending to their families instead of focusing our careers? Why are we shaming these women who make these choices instead of celebrating the fact that we finally have all these choices at our disposal?

The feminist movement started in order to give women the freedom to choose

bookworm

A moment worth staying at home for: watching my daughter read while sitting on her throne.

how they want to live their lives. I hope society starts to see the value of women as a whole. We’re not just workers and citizens; we’re mothers, partners and wives. Our talents are not wasted when we leave our jobs. We don’t stop contributing to society when stop working. We help by trying to raise our children the best way we can.  We help by giving way for other women to shine in the jobs or careers that we left behind. We help by exploring new, different, and better ways to improve our skills and talents; like becoming a work at home mom.

I’m really happy I read this. It made me feel more confident about the choices I made in my life. And I now know how to answer the next time someone asks me, “What is a smart girl like you doing home?”

“Being a mom.”

Author: Julia Jasmine Sta Romana

I'm a writer, enterprise development trainer, activist, full-time mom and part-time superhero. Currently working as 1) VA/content development for Onlinejobs.ph 2) contributor for GMA News Online and Mindanation. 3) internet right activist for Dakila.ph 4) trainer in training for ADFEC 5) co-founder of the Davao Virtual Assistants Association. I like to write about science and technology, parenting, food, society and my advocacy. On my free time I will be found * in school, taking my MBA, * scheming with my sisters on how we can save the world on our free time (Powerpuff!), * playing with our family dogs, * finding the easiest (laziest) way to do chores, and * cheering my daughter as she practices playing her trumpet, off key

Your thoughts?

